Kirpputori – second hand shops in Finland.

Today, some of my new pals and I had the chance to visit the so called “kirputtori” or a flea market .if you will.  You will be surprised of the assortments you may find here.  ANYTHING! For a small amount of money.

Many Finns visit these sort of stores, on a daily basis. I was looking around and there were all sorts of stuff from clothes to swords :-))

As I was sifting through t things, I found good winter shoes.. but I hesitated. It’s not like there aren’t shops like this in Macedonia. It’s sort of a cultural taboo.  I will state this unwritten rule when it comes to clothing:

IT’S EITHER NEW OR NOTHING!

The sole notion of entering a shop of this kind disturbed me in a way. My comrades thought that I’m out of my mind, they considered ‘kirpputori’ as normal as anything else.

I’m frank, and I say it – it was an awkward experience for me.

But it was well worth it.

 

Have you ever been to a ‘kirpputori’ in your own country?

 

Let me know!

 

Leave a comment